Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I, once again, have "Student Finance Rage".

I'm currently in my second year of a BA in English, and have recently began applying for the funding for my 3rd year. In 2008 I completed a year at Sunderland University, dropping out because of many reasons, all of which are very personal.

When applying for my final year of funding, I was met by a request to provide evidence of "compelling personal reasons" for not completing my degree.

The SFE website says this:

"The general principle is that eligible students can have tuition fee support and means tested grants for the standard length of their HE course plus an additional year if needed."

By my reckoning, 3+1=4? I've used a year, which leaves me with 3... So what's their problem?

It was not raised as an issue when I first applied for finance, I have enough years of funding available, and I'm currently not understanding what they want from me?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SNichol)
    I, once again, have "Student Finance Rage".

I'm currently in my second year of a BA in English, and have recently began applying for the funding for my 3rd year. In 2008 I completed a year at Sunderland University, dropping out because of many reasons, all of which are very personal.

When applying for my final year of funding, I was met by a request to provide evidence of "compelling personal reasons" for not completing my degree.

The SFE website says this:

"The general principle is that eligible students can have tuition fee support and means tested grants for the standard length of their HE course plus an additional year if needed."

By my reckoning, 3+1=4? I've used a year, which leaves me with 3... So what's their problem?

It was not raised as an issue when I first applied for finance, I have enough years of funding available, and I'm currently not understanding what they want from me?