Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Foreign student : finding a summer job when I arrive ? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey,
    I'm a French student and I'll be settled in London aroung mid July. I've heard it's important to start looking for a summer job early, but I was wondering if it was worth it since I couldn't be there for any interview or training ? On the other hand, I'm not sure it is possible to find a job in July, is it ? Especially when your English is not perfect AND you're inexperienced.
    I'm kinda worried about it because I really need this money... Any information, tip or idea of job would be great !
    Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ciccone)
    Hey,
    I'm a French student and I'll be settled in London aroung mid July. I've heard it's important to start looking for a summer job early, but I was wondering if it was worth it since I couldn't be there for any interview or training ? On the other hand, I'm not sure it is possible to find a job in July, is it ? Especially when your English is not perfect AND you're inexperienced.
    I'm kinda worried about it because I really need this money... Any information, tip or idea of job would be great !
    Thanks
    While I don't live in London you should know that the job market around the UK is very competitive. Finding a summer job could be challenging. For uni students you should try literally everything. Maybe try a to get a job where communication isn't vital if your English isn't perfect. Although your written English is very good.

Care homes tend to take quite a few people whatever the time of year and it tends to be average minimum wage, so maybe that's something you could explore?

ReputationRep:
    I probably shouldn't do this though I am personally also looking for a summer job, but a friend of mine has recommended me gumtree.com as a best place for looking for a part-time.