Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I graduated Uni in 2012 from Derby with a 2:1 in Accounting and Finance, which gives me 8 exemptions from ACCA/CIMA.

I took part in the Camp America programme straight from University until October, when I took up a role at an SME as an Accounts Assistant. This role was temporary and finished today after 6 months. I managed to gain good exposure to different areas in Management Accounting and Purchase Ledger and also learnt SAGE 200, which is always a bonus!

Since the role began I have been applying for jobs to try and secure permanent employment, but with no success!!

I really want a role that provides study support to complete ACCA/CIMA exams.

However, if I don't secure a role that provides this, I am considering completing a postgraduate degree in either ACCA or CIMA, which will mean that I will complete all examinations required to qualify as an Accountant and I will only need the work experience.

What do you think to this? Would it make employers view me as more of an option if they don't have to provide support for exams? Or will they overlook me as they want a trainee who hasn't completed the examinations?

I know that you might not have specific knowledge, but any ideas that you might have would be greatly appreciated!

Also, my A Levels are poor, C in IT, D in Business and AS grade D in statistical mathematics. But I hope that the experience I have gained my previous role, may make employers overlook this!

ReputationRep:
    ACA feels left out of your post

ReputationRep:
    Haha! My A-Level grades unfortunately restrict me from the ACA!

If it was going to really affect me I would re-sit my A-Levels to get the required grades to complete ACA, but from what I have heard from colleagues at work and friends who have secured ACA contracts, ACCA is not far behind and it is only a small minority who would place preference on an ACA over an ACCA once qualified.