Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I am a student from the Uk who has done my high schooling in the USA, therefore I don't have A-Levels. I was wondering firstly how long does it take to do the full AS economics? Is it possible over 2 months summer? Also which is the easiest exam board to score an A?
    thanx

ReputationRep:
    I can't compare too much, but I can give you the low down on AS Economics on the AQA Exam board:
    - 2 papers: ECON1 (Micro), ECON2 (Macro)
    - Both papers have the same style: 1 hour 15mins
    Section A: 25 multiple choice question
    Section B: 5, 8, 12, 25 mark questions

I'd say its a pretty straight forward exam board that covers all aspects of the foundations of economics in reasonable detail, if you have a strong interest for the subject you should find AS Economics logical and straight forward.

In my opinion, there is only one book you need for an A in Economics and that is the Nelson Thornes AQA AS Economics book.

Personally, I would say two months is a bit tight to learn AQA Economics - the multiple choice takes some time getting use too and people find Unit 1 a little harder.

ReputationRep:
    Why do people say that OCR is easier? Is it really true?

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Faye_m)
    Why do people say that OCR is easier? Is it really true?

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App
    I'm unsure, you'll have to ask someone who does OCR.

Or alternatively, compare OCR/AQA/Edexcel past papers.

But don't forget, harder/easier papers will be weighed with lower/higher grade boundaries respectively.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Faye_m)
    Hi,