This discussion is closed.
ColdCase
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hey all!

I graduated in September 2011 (18 months ago) with a 2:1 in Psychology. When I finished Uni I applied to several Graduate jobs/schemes but not having much luck.

I did an Access to Higher Education course to get me into Uni (I'm now 28) but most job applications are wanting UCAS Points to let you progress further. I've searched everywhere and it seems that Access Courses don't give UCAS Points. I'm finding it really frustrating that I can't get anywhere

Does anyone have any advice? Should I go back to college and do A-Levels? Eugh, I feel like i'm never going to get my 'foot in the door'.
jimheru
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
I've never heard of an application wanting ucas points for what was studied before the degree :confused: wouldn't your 2:1 be more important than ucas points...
ColdCase
Rep:
?
(Original post by jimheru)
I've never heard of an application wanting ucas points for what was studied before the degree :confused: wouldn't your 2:1 be more important than ucas points...
That's what I would have thought but for instance, I starting an online appication for a Graduate Scheme and under the qualifications it asks for 'GCSEs' at Grade C and A-Levels/UCAS Points.

I have mostly been applying for Graduate Training Schemes. Maybe I should just apply for Graduate Jobs?
HopefulMidwife
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Have you tried contacting the college you studied your access at? I'm doing an access course and I'm sure it gives UCAS points.
ColdCase
Rep:
?
(Original post by HopefulMidwife)
Have you tried contacting the college you studied your access at? I'm doing an access course and I'm sure it gives UCAS points.

According to the Official Access Course website, it states that they do not give UCAS Points for this qualification. I believe Access courses are only relevent to 'getting into University' for 'mature' students.
wetin dey?
Badges: 8
Rep:
?