The Student Room Group

international student driving in the UK

I'm a bit confused if I can drive in the UK or if I need a provisional licence:
I am a student in the UK for 3 years, holding a non designated country driving licence (in English).
1. Can I drive in the UK with my non designated licence in a private car for 12 months, and during that time to take a driving test for a permanent licence?
2. OR - Do I need to first have a provisional licence? before I can drive in a private car.

I just don't understand why I need to have a provisional licence. I have been driving for over 5 years, I am 23 years old, and that will mean I can't drive on motorways..?
Reply 1
It all depends where you are from. As far as I understand it, if you've been living in the UK for more than 6 months, you're obligated to exchange your foreign license for a UK one (I don't understand what you mean by "non designated country driving license.") HOWEVER, if you are from an EU country, you are allowed to use your foreign license in the UK for the duration of your studies. You are also allowed to use your own vehicle in the UK while you are studying (by "your vehicle" I mean a car registered and insured under your name in your own country.) <- Again, this is only if you are from an EU country.

Source: https://www.gov.uk/non-gb-driving-licence/y/student_in_gb/eea_ec
Reply 2
Original post by hldarad
I'm a bit confused if I can drive in the UK or if I need a provisional licence:
I am a student in the UK for 3 years, holding a non designated country driving licence (in English).
1. Can I drive in the UK with my non designated licence in a private car for 12 months, and during that time to take a driving test for a permanent licence?
2. OR - Do I need to first have a provisional licence? before I can drive in a private car.

I just don't understand why I need to have a provisional licence. I have been driving for over 5 years, I am 23 years old, and that will mean I can't drive on motorways..?