Great Degree But Bad A-Levels: Is There Any Point Going Into Law? Watch

Astynax
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I completed a Masters degree in Classics at Oxford a little under a year ago, and I have a first in Archaeology and Classics from Reading at undergraduate, in which I came at the top of my class in every assessed category.

To my frustration, I've been struggling for work ever since, and have spent my time volunteering and doing part-time jobs while living with my parents - not an ideal conclusion to what was quite a successful series of results.

The kicker: I have only BBC at A-level, having got into Reading in the first place only by the skin of my teeth. This has caused me endless problems, and I have found myself automatically filtered from the majority of the positions I have applied for.

While I do not by any measure come from a legal background, my current intention is to take up a GDL at BPP Waterloo in order to pursue a career in the law. I am very concerned however that I will find myself in exactly the same situation two years down the line, only around £40,000 poorer.

Does anyone have any views on this, or experience from someone in a similar situation who made it through the significant barriers of entry? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as I must decide whether to accept my offer at BPP within the next two weeks.

Thanks!
woody-wood
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Astynax)
I completed a Masters degree in Classics at Oxford a little under a year ago, and I have a first in Archaeology and Classics from Reading at undergraduate, in which I came at the top of my class in every assessed category.

To my frustration, I've been struggling for work ever since, and have spent my time volunteering and doing part-time jobs while living with my parents - not an ideal conclusion to what was quite a successful series of results.