The Student Room Group

Not done well in first year, worried about internships

Hello, I'm in my first year studying mathematics. Since I've been at university I've been quite unhappy due to being lonely and not making a lot of friends. I spent weekends at home and dreaded going back there. As a result, my studies have suffered.

In my January exams, i got an overall mark of 58%. I did barely any work through out the year and barely any revision just before the exams. I had just lost any motivation and interest, which was a shock to myself after working so hard at A level to get where I am.

Now my worry is internships, I'm not completely sure what I want to do after university but I would like to do an internship to boost my CV and increase my contacts. My exams are in a few weeks and I'm working my nuts off to do as well as I can in those to try and scrape a 2:1 overall, as that's what most internships want as a minimum. Plus the reason I'm worried I wont get a 2:1 is because I've missed a lot this semester and did poorly in 1-2 of the midterms which count as a small part of my final mark for this semester.

What if I don't get a 2:1 in my first year? Am I at a severe disadvantage? Come second year, I should be in a better place due to living with a few friends and being in a house environment and I am going to work hard from the start to do as well as i can. It's just I'm worried a poor first year mark will make me suffer further down the line.

Anyone been in a similar situation?

Thanks for reading, sorry for the long post
Simon
Original post by Renovatio123
Hello, I'm in my first year studying mathematics. Since I've been at university I've been quite unhappy due to being lonely and not making a lot of friends. I spent weekends at home and dreaded going back there. As a result, my studies have suffered.