The Student Room Group

Can i be successful with average iq

five days ago i was tested for iq. i got 113 points. i feel like total loser. I know im being harsh on myself, but i just cant help it. Im currently studying for Ma. I wish i never would have taken the test. I had plans with my future, now i feel like im stuck in the middle of nothing and that no matter how hard i try i will not be able to be successful at what i want to do. my goal was to work in NGO, human rights sector. But how can I go on now, knowing my inteligence hinders my prospects to sufficiently and comprehensively aid others. Nobel goal, but not enough cognitive fuel to skilfully generate meaningful and proactive deeds and results. .
(edited 10 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Lord Sugar isn't a mensa member-
Reply 2
Original post by rageagainstessays
Lord Sugar isn't a mensa member-

Thats probably because he has never taken one. Judging from his success, theres no need to officially consolidate his high intelectual level:smile:
That's still above average. Are you saying that the majority of people are unsuccessful losers? Your IQ doesn't limit you to a certain level of achievement. Maybe you'll have to work slightly harder to achieve the top academic grades that people with a higher IQ, or perhaps take very slightly longer to work something out. To be honest, revising for IQ tests can improve your scores, which suggests that it isn't a 100% perfect measure of measuring intelligence. In fact, I'm not convinced that it really says anything about you except that you're not completely thick. Don't stress about it! You still have a good chance of getting the job you want if you work hard at it :smile:
Reply 4
Original post by BELIEVEME

knowing my inteligence hinders my prospects to sufficiently and comprehensively aid others.

The only hindrance I can see is your lack of common sense

An IQ does not define you
Your IQ doesn't measure your talent or skills, so no.
Reply 6