Amy**
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi, I'm applying for student finance for a social work degree starting sep 13 but I've been refused student finance due to a CErtificate in education that I studied and completed in 2009. I was teaching at a college but I had no GCSEs when I did this and so god knows how they can say it is the same level as a degree. I have since got my GCSEs and have paid for myself to do an access course. I was wondering if there are any success stories out there of people who have successfully appealed a refusal of student finance. Literally gutted about this. Please, someone give me hope x
username1024541
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Did you get student finance for that certificate in education?
Amy**
Rep:
?
Yes I did
Yawn11
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Amy**)
Yes I did
Student finance - depending on your course can - only fund you for a max of 4 years. So you wouldn't receive funding on a new course.
Amy**
Rep:
?
This was only a one year course though so do you think that would make a difference?
ParadoxSocks
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Yawn11)
Student finance - depending on your course can - only fund you for a max of 4 years. So you wouldn't receive funding on a new course.
Not true. Student finance will fund you for length of current course + 1 year - previous years studied but only if you haven't already completed a degree level course but there is some wiggle room.

The best thing for OP to do would be to call student finance and ask their advice or to contact prospective universities student services and ask if there is any support available or if they can negotiate with student finance.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Yawn11
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Amy**)
This was only a one year course though so do you think that would make a difference?