The Student Room Group

Writing exam answers in first person?

Hey,

I've never done this before but just wondering would I lose marks for "styllistic, clear writing" if I wrote my answers in first person. E.g. I believe... blah blah.

Thanks
It depends on what you're writing. If you're meant to be writing a formal essay, report or anything that's meant to be completely factual, don't use the first person. If it's an opinion piece I suppose you could but you also have to bear in mind that most articles are written to inform. Most people won't care what your personal opinion is unless you're an important figure, so try to avoid bringing yourself into an answer (unless it explicitly requests for you to do it).
Reply 2
Original post by Chlorophile
It depends on what you're writing. If you're meant to be writing a formal essay, report or anything that's meant to be completely factual, don't use the first person. If it's an opinion piece I suppose you could but you also have to bear in mind that most articles are written to inform. Most people won't care what your personal opinion is unless you're an important figure, so try to avoid bringing yourself into an answer (unless it explicitly requests for you to do it).

I see. Thanks. What about questions that ask you to evaluate pieces of research?
It's more 'academic' to write in third person, e.g. "it should not be forgotten that," "it seems that," "this leads to the conclusion that..." I know it's a bit of a farse, but it does read better and if you go onto university, it's a style of writing you are definitely going to need to adopt.

EDIT: Obviously if you're doing an English exam and writing creatively, then use the correct person (e.g. first person if you're writing a diary entry or even a formal letter). The above applies to academic writing, essays, etc - I'm sure you get my drift.
(edited 10 years ago)
Original post by Cryl
I see. Thanks. What about questions that ask you to evaluate pieces of research?