The Student Room Group

Would you offer to work for free?

Let's say you graduated, college or university doesn't matter. You looked for a job and made 100s of applications and received no response from any of them. Would you consider offering to work for free?

Soon after I graduated, I thought about this a lot. I came to a conclusion that I can't work for free. I don't think I can act professionally when I am not getting paid. There is no incentive for me to work at all.

I can't do an office job that doesn't pay. Doesn't matter if it's a world-class company or an exciting start-up. I'd rather become a min. wage catering person.
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 1
Sometimes you have to do voluntary work in order to gain the experience you need to progress through your career. I would like to get into the accounting business after my degree in 3 years time but I already know that I'll probably need to volunteer to gain experience before I'm taken seriously enough to get a job that pays me while I get the necessary qualifications.

There's no reason why you can't do a part time catering job and voluntary work at the same time though right?
Alternatively you could volunteer and claim Job seekers allowance.
Reply 2
The question is more hypothetical. I am not asking for a solution. As far as I am concerned, volunteer work adds no value whatsoever to your CV. I am speaking as a person who has done volunteer work alongside my study. In my personal opinion, only paid and relevant internships add value.

There are volunteering opportunities that could create value. You could work in the CAB (cit. ad. bu.) as an advisor. You could start a charitable enterprise. You will be given credit for your entrepreneurship and willing/boldness to do something new. Only these seem to create value.