Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am studying A2 Edexcel board Chemistry. I cannot understand which definition I have to learn for lattice enthalpy because I have seen both being used in the blue A2 book by Ann Fullick etc. and the black Hodder textbook.

These are the two definitions:

1) The lattice dissociation enthalpy is the enthalpy change needed to convert 1 mole of solid crystal into its scattered gaseous ions. Lattice dissociation enthalpies are always positive.

2) The lattice formation enthalpy is the enthalpy change when 1 mole of solid crystal is formed from its scattered gaseous ions. Lattice formation enthalpies are always negative.

Which one do edexcel want?

ReputationRep:
    Anyone?
    • Community Assistant
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Study Helper
    (Original post by Lili94)
    I am studying A2 Edexcel board Chemistry. I cannot understand which definition I have to learn for lattice enthalpy because I have seen both being used in the blue A2 book by Ann Fullick etc. and the black Hodder textbook.

1) The lattice dissociation enthalpy is the enthalpy change needed to convert 1 mole of solid crystal into its scattered gaseous ions. Lattice dissociation enthalpies are always positive.

2) The lattice formation enthalpy is the enthalpy change when 1 mole of solid crystal is formed from its scattered gaseous ions. Lattice formation enthalpies are always negative.

In the AS paper 1 June 2012 one of the questions quoted the lattice enthalpies as positive values. This suggests that they require the endothermic definition...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Lili94)

Well the correct answer is 1. That doesn't mean the exam board will want that though, but you'd hope they would know which one was correct.

ReputationRep: