Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello! I noticed that there wasn't a thread for this year's Int 2 English course and exam, so thought I'd create one.

How confident is everyone for the exam? I'm reasonably confident for the textual analysis sections, and for one critical essay - I'm doing Alan Bennett's Single Spies.

However, I'm at a loss over critical essay no. 2. Personal circumstances have made it so difficult to study lately, and we only ever prepared one text at school before I left for the loony bin. Eek.

I'm thinking of doing a poem which I know well outside of school. Larkin's Ambulances or Rimbaud's Ophelia would be my top choices - I'll go with Larkin's Ambulances, I think, as I'm not sure whether or not foreign-language texts are allowed in an "English" exam, haha.

ReputationRep:
    I have all of my essays prepared, it is now just the case of memorising my key quotes and points.

I'm studying 'Saving Private Ryan' which is quite good as I don't have to memorise quotes, just points about cinematic techniques. Although, I have to study the opening sequence, Wade's death and the final sequence.

I am studying 'of mice and men' which means I have to study three essays: a character essay, a theme of loneliness essay and a turning point essay. I am also studying three poems.

Overall it's 9 essays; English is hard work!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    9 essays? jeez I haven't even done more than one over study leave. I've planned all of the kinds of questions that fit my texts(well, just for Macbeth so far as I have 2 other exams before English) with line of thought, what each paragraph would be and quotes. It helps to secure essays without running the risk of the question coming up(^^I'd recommend making sure that you'll still be able to write an essay on Of Mice and Men just in case those three questions don't come up?).