Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone :-)

I am currently studying Zoology at Bangor University, I'm in my first year.

However although I've always loved animals, and been interested in them, I haven't enjoyed my first year much. I don't feel motivated by the course, I feel bored and generally just unhappy with it all. Another thing I think that possibly is effecting this is I live fairly close to home, about an hour away, and I find myself wanting to go home a lot, which I wish I didn't. I think I should have possibly moved further away!

Anyway, I've been thinking about what my options are, continuing with the course, quitting uni altogether, or doing a different course elsewhere.

I toyed with the idea of nursing a few years ago, I went to an open day and researched the course. My real aim would be to be a neonatal nurse as I love babies, and I really do feel it could be for me (it really 'gets' me!).

Anyway, the reason I never ended up pursuing it, and chose Zoology is because I am quite a shy person. I hate presentations and I chickened out when it came to nursing as I thought I'd buckle under the pressure of being assessed so much.

But now, I am beginning to feel I've possibly chosen the wrong course, and let my shyness stop me from doing what I really want to do.

I'm going to speak to a counsellor at my university to talk this through, and I don't really know what I am asking but I suppose I wanted to know any fellow nurses thoughts/ reassurance?!

Thank you :-)

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I know how you feel. My first degree was marine biology and zoology at Bangor which I didn't particularly enjoy all that much. I thought about dropping out in my 2nd year but decided to carry on because I was already half way through.