Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    This is something I've been playing about with for a while but I'm pretty **** at it.

Can anybody share what they do with regards to batch cooking and freezing/fridge? I'd love to cook a few things up for when I'm short of time. How does stuff like rice/pasta freeze/keep? Would I only really be able to batch cook veg/meat/sauce? What sort of things do you cook? I'm a reasonably good cook but all my stuff takes about an hour to cook with my quicker meals still taking about half hour including prep.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by RollerBall)
    This is something I've been playing about with for a while but I'm pretty **** at it.

Can anybody share what they do with regards to batch cooking and freezing/fridge? I'd love to cook a few things up for when I'm short of time. How does stuff like rice/pasta freeze/keep? Would I only really be able to batch cook veg/meat/sauce? What sort of things do you cook? I'm a reasonably good cook but all my stuff takes about an hour to cook with my quicker meals still taking about half hour including prep.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    Well I am not sure about rice, I have never tried, I personally don't think it keeps very well in the fridge overnight so not sure how it would freeze, but you could always try once, just to see.

My dad freezes spaghetti when he makes spaghetti bolognese, I think he covers it in olive oil first to stop it sticking together though.

I personally would just freeze sauces and meat and soups and cook the pasta or rice fresh as they only take around 10 minutes so by the time you have defrosted and heated up whatever it is you are eating you could have cooked the rice or pasta.

You could also try making a stir-fry with noodles. They are fairly quick to make, especially if you use precut frozen veg. I use frozen onions and peppers all the time for this.

xx