Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello all,

I'm currently in the midst of deciding what University to choose for my Masters degree. Having done a degree in Film & Theatre for my undegrad (yes, I did a 'mickey mouse' degree), I really wanted to do a subject that is relevant to the field I want to work in, and despite my very specific subject, I have been fortunate enough to get all four of my offers.

So I'm currently stuck between:

Newcastle University

University of Reading (where I did my undergrad)

Cardiff University

University of Leeds

All of them require the same grade of a 2:1 which i am expecting to get. In terms of prestige, to me they are relatively all on the same level. The courses at each only differ slightly in terms of what I want to focus on, so it's purely a matter of being drawn towards one. Anyone got any comments/advice?

ReputationRep:
    Can't comment on any of those unis specifically. However I did my Masters at a different uni to my undergrad degree and I found it very interesting. The two unis had completely different theoretical approaches to my subject and this was most illuminating. I've gone on to start a PhD and I've been able to choose the approach which best suits the way I work, returning to my undergrad uni.

It's quite a personal thing though. If you're comfortable where you are and it works for you, then there's no reason to move unis on principle. Plus many unis offer an alumni discount on postgrad fees, which is well worth taking into consideration.

Another aspect to consider is your independent research project. If you already have an idea for the direction of your dissertation, it could be down to choosing who you'd like to supervise you, then going where they are.

I also can't comment on the specific courses. However, your choice between these equally good options should be guided by what specific career you have in mind.