The Student Room Group
Coventry University
Coventry University
Coventry
Visit website

Retakes information

Hi, I am a 2nd year BEng Civil Engineering student. Due to my financial problems , I spent most of this year working, as a results I missed most of course works for all my 5 modules (110 credits). They were worth up to 25% of each module. So I was relying on exams to get the overall 40% needed to pass this year. However I reckon I will only pass 2 modules (40 credits). So I wanted to know
1. If I would be allowed to retake the 3 modules (70 credits) I I think I failed. The students handbook says if you fail you can retake but it does not say the maximum amount of modules or maximum amount of credits you can retake.

2. I was a direct student to 2nd year and stupidly did not read the student handbook till now. In the handbook, there was something about getting minimum 35% in both coursework and exams to pass a module. So, if I did not do any course work (worth 25% of the overall module) but I took the exams (worth 75% of the overall module) and got the 60% in the exam (worth 45% of the overall module), have I passed or failed the module?

Thank You in advance
Reply 1
Original post by curiousgeorge
Hi, I am a 2nd year BEng Civil Engineering student. Due to my financial problems , I spent most of this year working, as a results I missed most of course works for all my 5 modules (110 credits). They were worth up to 25% of each module. So I was relying on exams to get the overall 40% needed to pass this year. However I reckon I will only pass 2 modules (40 credits). So I wanted to know
1. If I would be allowed to retake the 3 modules (70 credits) I I think I failed. The students handbook says if you fail you can retake but it does not say the maximum amount of modules or maximum amount of credits you can retake.