Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

I'm currently studying my AS Levels - Maths, Physics, Geography and Religious Studies.

With university applications fast approaching, I'm still unsure about what I want to study.

Areas of interest include: economics, philosophy, physics but are not limited to these areas of study.

Does anyone have any advice on courses to look into?

Thank you in advance.

ReputationRep:
    Firstly they arent 'fast approaching' - you have until mid January next year to finalise your initial UCAS application So calm down - people who rush into this tend to make the wrong decisions/choices and then have all the difficulty of trying to 'unpick' all that later.

Pick up a few Uni prospectuses from a variety if different Unis. Just flip through them reading the descriptions of courses that interest you. Think about what it is about thee subjects that you like - and what you dont like about the ones where you just turned the page. Make sure you look at courses with unfamiliar titles - International Relations, Development Studies, Criminology, American Studies, Social Policy etc etc.

Go to as many Open Days as you can - even if these are at Unis you dont intend to apply to - this will give you an idea of what 'going to Uni' is all about, how its different from school and some of the wide variety of courses on offer. There are lots coming up in June/July and in September - and anyone thinking of applying to Uni is welcome.

PS. You dont have to go to Uni straight from school. There is no shame in planning a Gap Year. For some people, especially those who arent certain about which subject etc, this can give you some valuable unpressured thinking time away from the pressure of your A level year.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for the advice, much appreciated!

ReputationRep: