The Student Room Group

BSc Honours Computing and Information Technology VS Computer Science

Hi all!

I'm currently studying for my AS exams (year 13 in Northern Ireland where I live, year 12 in England) and I've been looking into computer based courses as I have to make my choices early next year.

Just to fill you all in, I'm currently studying Biology, Chemistry, ICT and Media Studies. I'm planning on dropping Chemistry and taking the other three onto A Level.

I was looking at the course offered by Queens Belfast called BSc Honours Computing and Information Technology. It seems to cover a broader area than Computer Science, which I believe is more maths based? I'm not overly mathematical so I thought the Computing and Information Technology course would be a good middle ground between the 'elite' Computer Science degree and the lesser computer based courses around.

However, is this a bit of a 'Mickey Mouse' degree? Would love to hear your opinions, and perhaps even some recommendations of courses to do at university to do with computers and ICT :smile: x
Reply 1
Reply 2
At my university (Surrey), the computing and information technology bsc shares 6 out of 8 modules with the computer science bsc, but takes 2 from the business school instead of a couple of the computing modules, so they take an accounting module and a management module instead of an assembly programming module and a mobile development module. Overall I actually think that the computing and information tech bsc is actually the better course, but of course this varies by uni. I doubt it'll make much difference which you really take, as long as you do well in it.
Reply 3
Thanks Josh, that was really interesting to hear. Does the computing and information technology have a lot of maths involved?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4
Original post by RachaelC700
Thanks Josh, that was really interesting to hear. Does the computing and information technology have a lot of maths involved?