Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I wonder if someone could possibly help with me a query I have regarding DSA top up reports, as I am somewhat confused.

I had a full needs assessment report undertaken when I was applying for student finance as an undergraduate. This was in the summer of 2007. I started my BA in September 2007 and graduated in July 2010. In September 2012 I started an MSc course. Student Finance England gave me permission to have a top up report undertaken as my course was now at a different level (postgraduate), was in a completely different subject and involved different forms of assessments including a couple of fieldwork placements which is something I had not done as an undergraduate.

As an undergraduate, my eligibility criteria for DSA was a mental health condition. Since then I have been diagnosed with a physical health condition as well. Therefore my 2012 application was on the grounds of a mental health condition and the physical health condition.

I had my to up report undertaken and upon completion, a draft copy was sent to me for approval before it was sent to Student Finance England and my university. In my original assessment report the assessor had made certain recommendations in respect of assessments and examinations in the main body of the report. As the assessor recognised that mental health conditions (and some health conditions for that matter) can fluctuate, they included in the appendix of the report a list of additional recommendations that should be considered if my mental health condition deteriorated and the recommendations they had made in the main body of the report were no longer sufficient. Thankfully, the arrangements recommended in the main body of the report proved sufficient for me as an undergraduate and I never had cause to enquire about alternate arrangements.