The Student Room Group

Impact of failed classes on application to Master's

Hello everyone,

I am a French student currently enrolled in a Master's program in International Security at Sciences Po (Paris), one of France's best schools.

I am considering applying for a couple Master's in Management in the UK (Judge, LSE MSc Int Management and Management & strategy, LBS).

As for my grades, I have a 14.33/20 average for my undergrad. LSE's minimum requirement is 12/20 so I'm good, also the Judge lady told me it was sufficient to be eligible so I guess it's the equivalent of a first honours (their minimum entry requirement).

My graduate level grades will probably be at the same level.

Now my only problem is that 1st semester of my 2nd year I failed 2 classes because of attendance. My transcript says "Failed" (no grade). One was an English class, the other an elective.

It has not impacted my semester validation because I had way more credits than necessary, and has not impacted my average grade.

How would that impact my application to British schools ? Will they be looking at my transcript in detail and be like "oh he failed 2 classes that semester that's not good", or will they just be looking at my average grade ?

Also, is there a place (forum, ...) where I can ask for a free application review (telling me if I've got my chances or not) ?

Thank you very much.
Reply 1
Original post by VdV
Hello everyone,

I am a French student currently enrolled in a Master's program in International Security at Sciences Po (Paris), one of France's best schools.

I am considering applying for a couple Master's in Management in the UK (Judge, LSE MSc Int Management and Management & strategy, LBS).

As for my grades, I have a 14.33/20 average for my undergrad. LSE's minimum requirement is 12/20 so I'm good, also the Judge lady told me it was sufficient to be eligible so I guess it's the equivalent of a first honours (their minimum entry requirement).