Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am currently a first year student at the University of Edinburgh studying French. My degree is simply a single honours degree in French.
    My 2 side courses this year have been Linguistics and the English Language and Social Policy.

However, I'm failing Linguistics, passing Social Policy and having some trouble with French, which is my main degree.

I'm extremely anxious as to be able to progress to second year, I have to pass the course overall with 50%, but I feel I am struggling to do so and the exam is in 2 days time.

Basically what I am wondering is if there's a chance I would be able to repeat first year? Or will I get chucked out?

Please someone help me or give me advice

Thank you in advance if anyone replies!

ReputationRep:
    What kind of grades have you been getting in your modules?

ReputationRep:
    I did Social Policy for first semester and achieved 51% for that. The follow on for that course was Politics of the Welfare State in semester 2 and I've been getting good grades for my coursework. Had the exam yesterday and I'm confident I have passed this course.

For French, I failed the December exam(this exam counts as coursework and cannot be resit) and I got 30%. I also had a speaking exam and only managed to achieve 35%. The pass mark was 40% for both of these. I've passed my essays and I still don't know about tutorial participation, so i'm not sure what my overall coursework for the year will average up to.

What's your thoughts?

ReputationRep:
    Do you know why you have been struggling with your courses? Have you simply not worked very hard this year, or have you worked hard and are you just finding it really difficult? Or have there been special circumstances which have distracted you from your studies? Have you found it difficult to adapt to university and the fact that you have to be more self-motivated.