Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Please anyone, I need advise.
    I am considering doing a Pitmans Exec PA course, I have no office skills as I have been a restaurant manager for the past 9 years. I really want a job with more sociable hours. Before I dropped £3500 I need to know if it is worth it, will it increase my chances of getting an office job or is it just a waste of money?

ReputationRep:
    Hiya, I cant really say too much, but I would say without the office skills to accompany it, it may not be worthwhile, especially if the course is online as you will have no actual experience... Maybe you could speak to your local college as they might do a similar night course that fits around your working hours.

ReputationRep:
    Try local colleges first, Pitmans qualifications are not recognised as much as they used to be since the advent of word processing. When companies cut back it is often the administrative roles that they cut. Plus spending £3500 on a non university course is a lot of money.

If you want to get office experience, see if you can secure a volunteer position with a charity. If you sit down and go through your skills, as a restaurant manager you probably have a lot of transferable skills. So try constructing a CV that focuses on your skills not your job role. Once you have established what skills you have, contact your local college and see if you can formalise these office centric skills with relevant certifications. Adminstrative roles look for very strong word processing, excel and power point skills. A lot of people only have very basic knowledge of these applications. If you can turn out a professional presentation in 15 minutes and manipulate complex spreadsheets and develop macros etc, you will stand out in a practical interview.

ReputationRep:
    Thank you

Submit reply
TSR Support Team