Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Last Friday I decided to join the gym due to rubbish fitness (I'm doing a PhD in Maths, so basically sat around all day). I tried the rowing machine for the first time, and am really enjoying it. I'm wondering whether anyone has any tips on how I can improve my 2k time.

A bit about me: I'm 27, not very fit (couldn't run 1k 2 weeks ago without massively struggling), just over 5' 9", about 75kg.

I have no knowledge of good technique for the machine apart from what I've gleaned from the internet in the last few days. Any help with this aspect would be great. I am also completing a general gym program, which was set up for me when I joined, which includes various weight machines and some running and cycling.

My times so far are:

10.30 (tried quite hard)
    9.28 (tried hard and was knackered after - had to sit on the machine for a while before moving off with wobbly legs)
    10.10 (I felt I did this two soon after a big workout and pretty much chickened out after the first 500)
    8.48 (Did this today and felt very tired, but better than the 9.28 - did a half hour weights session after).

I'm quite competitive with myself and enjoy getting personal bests. My next aim is to try to get my 2k time down to below 8 minutes. Maybe then I'll join a local rowing club.

Any advice?

ReputationRep:
    I'm not hugely into the whole exercise for the sake of it thing, but someone persuaded me to join the college boat club this term. The thing I've found helpful when doing timed ergs for picking crews etc. is to have a friend who tends to get quite similar times sitting next to me. If his 500m split's 1:55 then by God mine's got to be 1:54.