Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Conflicted about University of Portsmouth as insurance choice Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm going to study architecture in the fall and I've gotten offers from Westminster, Brighton, Kent, and Portsmouth. Respectively they want 35, 34, 33, and 30 from IB.

I really love Kent and it's my firm choice no doubt about it. That leaves me with Portsmouth as insurance but I'm rather regretting even applying to it - when I look at their website I don't really feel I'd be very happy there. And its reputation isn't very good as far as I know...

Seeing as I'm an international student, I've heard some unis cut off some slack if my exam grades deviate a little bit (1 or 2 points). Do you think I should choose Brighton (which I really like) as insurance, and if I get lower than 33 maybe they would accept me anyway? Or should I just pick Portsmouth?

Also, if you're a student at Portsmouth i'd love to heard about it, maybe I'd change my mind

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by hedwigg)
    Hi,

I'm going to study architecture in the fall and I've gotten offers from Westminster, Brighton, Kent, and Portsmouth. Respectively they want 35, 34, 33, and 30 from IB.

I really love Kent and it's my firm choice no doubt about it. That leaves me with Portsmouth as insurance but I'm rather regretting even applying to it - when I look at their website I don't really feel I'd be very happy there. And its reputation isn't very good as far as I know...

Seeing as I'm an international student, I've heard some unis cut off some slack if my exam grades deviate a little bit (1 or 2 points). Do you think I should choose Brighton (which I really like) as insurance, and if I get lower than 33 maybe they would accept me anyway? Or should I just pick Portsmouth?

Also, if you're a student at Portsmouth i'd love to heard about it, maybe I'd change my mind

Thanks