Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey Biology students

Can anyone give me an answer to a very simple, yet confusing calculation.
    (A2 AQA)
    When we Calculate the population of a mark-release-recapture data (or any other population data), do we;

- round up or down to the nearest number?
    - leave it to 1.d.p?
    - Or does the mark-scheme give a range between values?

Even though I'm a maths student, I'm still unsure what biology examiners except as an answer

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by temi1234)
    Hey Biology students

Can anyone give me an answer to a very simple, yet confusing calculation.
    (A2 AQA)
    When we Calculate the population of a mark-release-recapture data (or any other population data), do we;

- round up or down to the nearest number?
    - leave it to 1.d.p?
    - Or does the mark-scheme give a range between values?

Even though I'm a maths student, I'm still unsure what biology examiners except as an answer
    I don't actually know but I'd expect there to be a range of permissible values - there are for other calculations. . .

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by joostan)
    I don't actually know but I'd expect there to be a range of permissible values - there are for other calculations. . .
    It's ridiculous how biology examinations are so tough to imagine, out of all the sciences, it's the hardest to figure out what to write that would satisfy the mark-scheme.
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    Study Helper
    (Original post by temi1234)
    It's ridiculous how biology examinations are so tough to imagine, out of all the sciences, it's the hardest to figure out what to write that would satisfy the mark-scheme.
    That is coz biology is not governed by inert laws. A no of explanations may be possible for a single question

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Dynamo123)