Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am new loool so this is a tad bit awkward. But I am currently a year 11 student and I am very confused. I do hope to study medicine in the future however I have also accepted the fact that the chances of me actually studying the course is 1/10000 but I guess it is good to always aim high right?

All the colleges I have applied to are going to give me places based on whether I get A's and A*'s in my subjects. My predicted grades are:
    Biology-B
    Chemistry-B
    Physics-B
    Maths-A
    Citizenship-A
    English Lit-B
    English Lan-B
    R.E-A*

When I go college I hope to do the following A-Levels: Chemistry,Biology,Maths and Psychology or Religious Studies. Are this suitable A-Levels for the entry requirements to Medicine?
    I don't know what I can do to get my grades at A's and A*'s and I am not confident in the exams I have recently taken. Is there a chance of me doing medicine? Or am delusional? Also I am doing BTECS and so far they are all distinctions and equivilant to 10 A's.

ReputationRep:
    You'll have to look up the entry requirements for med schools, but those GCSEs should fulfill the requirements of at least a few med schools. You do absolutely have to get AAA at A-level though, but I don't know how difficult that is with less than stellar GCSEs.

I don't think BTECs count.

ReputationRep:
    To do medicine at Uni it's essential to get minimum AAA at A level, because the degree is just so competitive and the workload immense.

ReputationRep:
    I think what you have to really think about is why you are getting B's in essential subjects like chemistry and biology. If you are struggling at GCSE, how likely is it that you can improve to A's at A2 with much harder material - especially chemistry? If it's simply that you haven't been working very hard that can easily be fixed - if it's more fundamental than that, it may be that medicine isn't achieveable.