Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Does getting a 2:1 in second year prevent your success in applying for Grad Schemes? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

Sorry if this is not quite the most appropriate place to post this question- I haven't been around here for a while and I'm not quite fully re-orientated.

I'm a Maths student hurtling towards the end of second year and I've been putting a lot of thought into careers. However, for various reasons, I feel pretty certain that I won't achieve any higher than a 2:2 this year. (An improvement on first year though, if this is relevant to the question.)

What concerns me is whether the absence of a 2:1 would outright extinguish any chance of landing a place on a Grad scheme when I come to apply for them this Autumn. I am confident that I will be applying to each of the Big Four (probably) for Audit; I've done my research and I've got my reasons for applying. I even feel pretty confident with application forms and online tests too (... said no-one, ever). BUT! Will instantly be discounted for not having a 2:1? I can say with a great deal of certainty that I will finish third year with a 2:1 in my pocket but of course this probably means nothing to whoever is screening thousands of applications.

I really appreciate any insight or advice on the matter.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Simon16)
    Hi all,

Sorry if this is not quite the most appropriate place to post this question- I haven't been around here for a while and I'm not quite fully re-orientated.

I'm a Maths student hurtling towards the end of second year and I've been putting a lot of thought into careers. However, for various reasons, I feel pretty certain that I won't achieve any higher than a 2:2 this year. (An improvement on first year though, if this is relevant to the question.)