Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Im currently doing a joint degree in Mathematics and Economics. Math is the Major and Eco is the minor, so it is split 66% Math 33% Eco. Doing it in a top 30 uni, so not brilliant but not too shabby. Also obviously because its combined its a bsc as opposed to a MMath.
    Anyway im in my second year, I pretty sure I will be able to grad with a decent 2:1.

Im currently considering a career in teaching, I was wondering if anyone with experience could tell me about their experiences.

From research I believe you need to have a numerate degree and then you sit a PGCE
    I would specifically like to know, firstly I think that a PGCE is a combination of placements at local schools and learning teaching strategies. Am I far off? Also did you experience much difficulty with it, I've read posts on here with people saying its the toughest thing they ever did etc. Also how competitive is it to get onto a PGCE? Am I guaranteed a place or is there a fair chance I could be rejected. What price can I expect to pay.

Also how difficult is it to obtain the available bursaries, I looked at the government site which details 20k for a first 15 for a 2.1, but is that the maximum i can expect opposed to what I would actually receive and is it just a case of gaining that degree classification, or will I be required to demonstrate other abilities or face an interviewed for it?

Once you have completed a PGCE, what next? Are you a fully qualified Math teacher. Can you expect to find a job quickly. I think people assume qualified doctors almost walk into a role once qualified, is it the same for teachers? Or is there fierce competition, like say a prospective lawyer might face trying to get into a firm. Or will it perhaps be a mixture.