Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello

I graduated in July 2012, with a 2.1 social sciences degree. I have two small children (2 and 6) and so decided to take this last year out to spend time with them, my youngest was born in the summer between my first and second years at uni.

After much deliberation, as well as applying for a variety of graduate jobs and schemes, I have decided that I am definately not an office type, and therefore would like to go into teaching.

My plan always was to become a primary school teacher after uni, however, I decided that I didn't want to do this when my son went to school. I think I would suit an adult environment, and so I have decided that I would like to go into further education teaching, teaching sociology. This wouldn't be starting til September 2014, when my youngest goes to school.

However, I am struggling to understand exactly what I need to apply for, and what the different options are. There seems to be a lot more clarity for primary/secondary teacher training.

Any advice would be gratefully received!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by pinkmilk)
    Hello

I graduated in July 2012, with a 2.1 social sciences degree. I have two small children (2 and 6) and so decided to take this last year out to spend time with them, my youngest was born in the summer between my first and second years at uni.

After much deliberation, as well as applying for a variety of graduate jobs and schemes, I have decided that I am definately not an office type, and therefore would like to go into teaching.

My plan always was to become a primary school teacher after uni, however, I decided that I didn't want to do this when my son went to school. I think I would suit an adult environment, and so I have decided that I would like to go into further education teaching, teaching sociology. This wouldn't be starting til September 2014, when my youngest goes to school.