joba-5
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
Hi all,

I'm an EU student and currently holding an offer for the Master courses at LSE "Global Politics" and UCL "Global Governance & Ethics".

Are there any current/previous students who can give some infos about the both programs and maybe about the main differences (teaching, social life, ...)? A main issue are the costs. LSE fees are twice as high as UCL. But considering the reputation, I think LSE is slightly better in the field of politics (or am I wrong)?

Thanks!
joba-5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
Here's another aspect: I hope to find a position in an IO (e.g. UN) later on. Do you have any idea which program/school has a better reputation for IOs?
Badges: 3
Report 8 years ago
If you don't get the responses you want from this forum, I would recommend you contact students at the universities. See if students have profiles on the department websites with email addresses. If not, contact the department and ask if they can put you in touch with some current students. They can give you a direct insight.
Gannicus
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
I know it's a tough decision, but if I were in your position, I'd choose UCL.

First of all, congratulations on your offers! I'll be attending UCL this fall for an MSc in Security Studies. LSE is a better school, but UCL is a terrific uni in its own right, and I personally chose it for the same reason I would have likely turned down LSE anyway: UCL's modules fit what I want and, as a purely post-graduate school of public policy, I have high expectations about learning from and working with some of the professors. On the other hand, I've spoken with many LSE alumni who are nevertheless quite satisfied with their education, and they all seem to agree that the school is run like a corporation and that their masters programs are just a way for the school to make money and fund research.