The Student Room Group

Astrophysics MSc 'how to?' misery...

Dear Students
I want to do an astrophysics MSc in research leading to a PhD.
I am a Physics-Philosophy BSc Hons graduate (2:2, Keele 1997) in my forties, eager to improve on my 2:2 BSc result (I had a breakdown mid-degree, some say I did well to finish, and after that I was no longer on course for a 1st in physics). I might be classed as disabled panic attacks etc, am long term unemployed and a little in debt. My problems regarding postgraduate study are:
1. I wish to remain living at home and there is no suitable course locally.
2. I need funding,
and
3. The entry requirement must be a 2:2.
I have just discovered the possibility of 'distance learning' and am investigating. If Manchester
uni [or any other decent uni] did this - or will do - it would be ideal. I am prepared to wait. I have just passed a business admin certificate and was joint top throughout the course after not having seriously studied since 1997. I have 11 GCE O levels (including 2x AO levels) and 5 A levels. Please can you advise me. Many thanks for your help and time.
Best regards,
Dekka97
(edited 10 years ago)
Doubt anyone here will know the answer. You'd be best asking the universities if they propose to offer such degrees. Your biggest problem is funding. Masters level funding is very hard to come by. In areas such as astrophysics the best chances for funding are from a potential employer. That is going to be difficult given your various personal circumstances.

What is your purpose in wanting to doing an astrophysics degree?
Original post by Dekka97
Dear Students