The Student Room Group
Students on campus at Queen Mary, University of London
Queen Mary, University Of London
London

Anyone really, really old going to QM?

I'm a mature student with an offer to read English at Queen Mary but at the recent open day I did not see another mature (meaning older) student anywhere.

Obviously there might have been but I was wondering if there were any over 40s going? I'm not fussed about being old enough to be everyone's mum but I wondered if it was a mature student friendly uni? If there are not many others going then perhaps it's not...

I also failed to spot a mature student stand which is a bit ominous.

I've got to make my decision soon (I applied late) so any insight anyone can offer with regards to the above would be gratefully accepted!
Reply 1
Anyone???

Would I really be the oldest UG there....
Students on campus at Queen Mary, University of London
Queen Mary, University Of London
London
Reply 2
Original post by Soup Dragon
Anyone???

Would I really be the oldest UG there....

hahah you should really just relax :smile:
I know a guy from linguistics class, but am not sure which programme he's doing...
There aren't many mature students, but from what I see, lecturers like mature students because you work harder and simply know more!
Good luck :biggrin:
Queen Mary will be good as a place for mature students as it's in London and has a lot of internationals there too, so it'll feel less cliquey. I'll be 25 when I start there - not super mature but definitely not 18 either. London is probably the best option for mature students as it's teeming with life off campus.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4
Original post by annette2010
hahah you should really just relax :smile:
I know a guy from linguistics class, but am not sure which programme he's doing...
There aren't many mature students, but from what I see, lecturers like mature students because you work harder and simply know more!
Good luck :biggrin: