The Student Room Group

Can anyone recommend any good astronomy/astrophysics books?

Hi, I'm currently in my summer after GCSE before I start A level and I am really interested in astronomy, I have a telescope, a few books and so on. Does anyone have any suggestions on astronomy/astrophysics, not just to help be locate around the nights sky but to learn in detail about the universe. So far I have:
Wonders of the universe - Brian Cox
Wonders of the solar system - Brian Cox
Wonders of life - Brian Cox
Tweeting the universe
50 universe ideas you really need to know - Joanne Baker
Tweeting the universe - Marcus Chown and Govert Schilling
I also get the magazines 'All about Space' and 'National Geographic' monthly.

Obviously I'm not an expert in this subject and don't want anything too difficult. But I enjoy the subject and have learnt lots already so nothing too simple!!

Any suggestions on:
- Books
- Telescopes
- Binoculars
- anything!

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
'Cosmos' by Carl Sagan is incredible, and definitely worth checking out.

For that matter, Cosmon the TV series with Sagan as presenter is a definite if you're interested in astronomy. It is rated 9.6 on imdb and is widely regarded as one of the greatest TV series ever made. I'm sure Brian Cox is on record as saying that it is Cosmos and Sagan himself that sparked his interested in astronomy :smile:

The series was made in 1980 so the effects are a little dated but it's still mindblowing. The accompanying book is definitely recommended too :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by Spiderman
'Cosmos' by Carl Sagan is incredible, and definitely worth checking out.

For that matter, Cosmon the TV series with Sagan as presenter is a definite if you're interested in astronomy. It is rated 9.6 on imdb and is widely regarded as one of the greatest TV series ever made. I'm sure Brian Cox is on record as saying that it is Cosmos and Sagan himself that sparked his interested in astronomy :smile: