The Student Room Group
Mappin Building
University of Sheffield
Sheffield

Is Sheffield University hard to get into?

Say, for example you miss your offer, are they likely to make concessions? Also, is it hard to get an offer in the first place? i.e. do you need several As and A*s at GCSE and fantastic AS results and predictions to be in with a chance?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
It depends on what course you would like to do, but in general, they would be looking for 3 A levels grades A & B. I studied Biology here and although I got 3 As at A level the grade requirements were lower than that. Are you interested in studying in Sheffield? I could tell you more about uni life here if you'd like :smile:
Mappin Building
University of Sheffield
Sheffield
Quite a few courses dropped their requirements by a grade or two this year in clearing so yes they will generally let you in if you just miss your offer. In terms of ease to get into it depends on the subject, for engineering for example their offers tend to be lower than comparable universities.
Reply 3
Original post by Rosie@Sheff
It depends on what course you would like to do, but in general, they would be looking for 3 A levels grades A & B. I studied Biology here and although I got 3 As at A level the grade requirements were lower than that. Are you interested in studying in Sheffield? I could tell you more about uni life here if you'd like :smile:

Yes I am interested but I was just worried I wouldn't get the grades, did you enjoy your time there?
Original post by Helloworld_95
Quite a few courses dropped their requirements by a grade or two this year in clearing so yes they will generally let you in if you just miss your offer. In terms of ease to get into it depends on the subject, for engineering for example their offers tend to be lower than comparable universities.

Ok thank you, that sets my mind at ease slightly :smile:
Reply 4