Newspaper Review - Plz help! Watch

<A-S-H-I-Q-U-E>
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 13 years ago
Hi all,

I've been asked to write down a summary on an article, taken from a local newspaper. Being an Engineering student, I'm not so keen in writing such a summary or report. So, I will highly appreciate it if anyone kindly help me writing it.

The following is the question:

Reviewing and summarizing newspaper articles is a hard-to-master skill that comes only with practice. Such a task requires the ability to

(1) single out the important keywords of the article (generalize and block together parts)

(2) elaborate on these in dot points and

(3) plan how to write the final review.

Read through the newspaper article provided and write a summary of it in about 100 words. Marks are allocated for each of the THREE above-mentioned steps.

=============================
Honesty the best policy
By Alexius Barieng

KUCHING: Honesty is still the best policy when it comes to promoting integrity in any organisation, said Yayasan Sarawak chairman Dato Sri Adenan Satem.

He added that having such an approach would make life simpler for those who adopted it, while the reverse would also apply to those who chose to be dishonest in their dealings.

“You can write volumes on integrity, but basically honesty is the best policy. Make it short, make it simple and make it honest,” he said when launching a talk on “Integrity in the Civil Service” by the National Integrity Institute at the Yayasan Sarawak building here, yesterday. Although he conceded that the policy was easier to adopt when time was easy, it was when time was tough and complicated that people must make the extra effort to stay the course.

“When life becomes more complicated, that is the time you cannot give up on that policy,” he said, pointing out that “when you climb a mountain it’s easy when you begin, it’s hardest when you are near the summit… it is then you must not give up.”