Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey im totally new to this. First as you can see by the title i start my first year of uni in september however iv only just found out im pregnant although im only 6weeks its still early days. I do already have a 5year old son. But i was posting this to see if anyone has been in this situation or know someone who has. I mean im not going to drop out of uni as i believe i can still do this. I know its goin to be hard for me as my course will finish in may and ill be due in march. So i know the ups and downs. But any advice would be great. Thank you. Soph

ReputationRep:
    First of all, congratulations!

I think your best bet would be to contact your university and explore your options. The good news is Easter break is around late march/early April for most places (I looked at some websites).

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    If you can defer starting university for a year. This will reduce the pressure on you and allow you to establish a routine before starting university. Whilst universities do have crèches, they may not take many if any babies under 1.

I've known quite a few people in similar situation, but already at university. Only a few of those who were in their final year managed to make it through, but it wasn't easy. Those in year 1 and 2 tried to, but ultimately decided to defer or had to retake the year. So whilst it possible, be realistic about how much you will be able to do in the later stages of pregnancy.

Just to be clear this isn't a post to say it is not possible, just have a good think about the logistics if you do decide to start university this year.

Good Luck.

ReputationRep:
    well im glad your not considering abortion! good luck and show your kids you can be a supermum!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by edjunkie)
    If you can defer starting university for a year. This will reduce the pressure on you and allow you to establish a routine before starting university.