Turn on thread page Beta

How difficult are foreign language A-Levels? watch

ReputationRep:
    I've chosen to take French and German for A-Level and was just wondering how much harder will they get. I found French and German GCSE really easy but I know it's going to get really difficult and it frightens me haha. Will I find the start of year 1 impossible or will it seem okay and the second year will seem impossible?

ReputationRep:
    It all depends on how prepared you are and on how well you've been taught at GCSE.

As a French teacher, I can say that grammar is the key so you would do well to revise all the grammar you've learnt so far before you start in the Sixth Form. Particularly your verbs! Make sure you know all the conjugations in all the tenses, and all the irregular verbs, in both languages. That will certainly help the transition. I think the transition from GCSE to AS is harder than from AS to A2.

I don't know what is available for German, but for French I work with this book with my students who say they really like it because it's so clear:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/French-Gramm.../dp/095706120X

Lots of verb exercises there! And the first chapter is really helpful as it explains all the basic grammar stuff.

Bon courage!

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I've just finished AS French and I must say it's quite different to GCSE, particularly with the exams. Rather than simply learning a pre-prepared response to known questions for the speaking/writing exams, you have to actually be able to speak and use the language confidently. However I moved schools and I still found the transition really smooth, with AQA and I can imagine other boards too, there's a 'transition module' which gives you a taster of the vocab etc you will face in AS so it's not an impossible leap!!

ReputationRep:
    Oooh and well done for doing languages!! They're dying in most schools and I feel sad! :L

ReputationRep: