The Student Room Group

Can I cancel my offer and apply for it again in CLEARING?

Hello

I want to try to enter another university that is not in my ucas list. I've fulfilled all requirements but I want to try for a better uni. I'm afraid I'll loose all chances that way and I don't wanna risk. If I cancel my firm application in UCAS will I be able to apply for it again in clearing if I fail for another uni?
Thank you for your help.
Reply 1
Im in year 12 and im no expert at this but im sure there is an option called "adjustment" that happens after results day which allows you to look for better unis WHILE also KEEPING your firm offer (considering you met the offer that is).
So i think adjustment is what you want to do, but again im not 100% ,correct me if im wrong or do some research on adjustment.
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by kameko7
Hello

I want to try to enter another university that is not in my ucas list. I've fulfilled all requirements but I want to try for a better uni. I'm afraid I'll loose all chances that way and I don't wanna risk. If I cancel my firm application in UCAS will I be able to apply for it again in clearing if I fail for another uni?
Thank you for your help.

This is exactly what I'm going through. I was told by my preferred University that they might have spaces in clearing, to pick one of the offers I did have, and then if they were able to make an offer, I could be released from my firm and go for the better one. I have this in email confirmation from the head of their UK admissions.

However, today I received a letter from UCAS saying, if you withdraw now you may not reapply this cycle or through clearing.
Reply 3
Original post by kameko7
Hello

Thank you for your help.

Why not sit on the current offer and then use Adjustment in the event you do better than required?