The Student Room Group

Mechanical engineering difficulty?

Hi,
im looking at doing mechanical engineering at somewhere like surrey or Southampton. I was just wondering how hard the degree was. I'm quite a hard worker, I got A*AB (maths, physics and DT respectively). I found the maths at a-level pretty easy, the physics was slightly more challenging.
was just wondering can you take weekends off or do you have to solidly work week days and weekends? Really wouldn't like the latter.
i also don't drink, would this help me do better at my degree?
Also what are the labs like for mech eng? Are they similar to physics labs at uni or less "intense"?
thanks.
Reply 1
I am studying at neither Surrey nor Southampton, but the course content across the board is fairly similar.

Regarding work... I honestly did not do much work during the midweek and very little at weekends. The only exceptions were for coursework and similar projects which were due on a near weekly basis for me (it was fine though, my university liked to give out a lot of small projects for certain modules instead of few massive ones). I only really started revising in the weeks leading up to the exams and I was able to get a 2:1 for my first year (A 2:1 is like a grade "B" and a First is like a grade "A". Typically a first is 70% and a 2:1 is 60% and so on). In the second year I will press on a bit more, but you just go at the pace which suits you. I don't see the point in finding work to do, I just make sure I'm on top of all my work and that keeps things relaxed. A benefit of university is that you'll typically get marks back every few weeks, so you know exactly where you're up to. That is my favourite bit about the assessments because I tell what my grade currently is and what I need to do on any given week.