The Student Room Group

mature, international, no science background

Hi, I am an Indian living in India who wants to study medicine in either US or UK. I am 31 years old. (thus i will be an "international plus mature" student. I don't want to waste your time talking about why medicine and why at this age or the circumstances that didn't let me do it earlier. Let's just say becoming a doctor is something i am 100 per cent sure i want to do, despite my age.
my unique situation is given below listed under what i gather would be seen as disadvantages and advantages when it comes to applying to med school. please read and let me know what my first step (and if you have the time, the subsequent steps) should be in order to get into a med school and become a doctor.

Disadvantages:
1. am 31 years old
2. an Indian national
3. no background in science (former journalist currently teaching journalism, the last time i studied physics, chemistry, maths or biology was in class 10 (what i think is called o levels in Uk), my bachelors/undergrad/first degree was in 'commerce', and masters was in 'development')
4. have no savings (but i have a gut feeling, given how much i want to do this, that i will somehow find a way to fund it, if i get admission)

Advantages:
1. no partner or kids (no relationships, dependents, commitments, can relocate to any place in the world to make this happen)
2. Have a masters degree in 'Gender, development and globalisation' from the London School of Economics (though it had nothing to do with natural sciences, i am hoping the very fact that i have a masters degree from a reputed social science institute would be at least a small advantage)
3. I have nothing to lose by giving up what i am doing now. hence attempting this.