Teaching Watch

This discussion is closed.
traceyatlas
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 14 years ago
Hi,

I am currently working as an account manager in field sales.
Which pays me lots of money but no longer gives me job satisfaction.

Can anyone advise which is the best method to get in to primary school teaching??

I have a HND but not a degree.

Any advice would be greatly received,

cheers

Tracey
happysunshine
Rep:
?
Report 14 years ago
What's your HND in? Is it a school subject?

I assume you'd have to go about it the usual way by getting a degree and then a PCGE. However there may be a shorter route for you (which I suspect there could be. Phone up your local college/university for advice.
Joey_Johns
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 14 years ago
(Original post by traceyatlas)
Hi,

I am currently working as an account manager in field sales.
Which pays me lots of money but no longer gives me job satisfaction.

Can anyone advise which is the best method to get in to primary school teaching??

I have a HND but not a degree.

Any advice would be greatly received,

cheers

Tracey

My mum is a teacher, she says it was rewarding 20 years ago but now there is FAR too much paperwork she has to do which really gets her down and quite frankly i'd suspect you'd very quickly get bored of teaching too. There is satisfaction in teaching children, yes. But the amount of times my mother has had 'little *******s' in her class to compensate for the this pleasure she always tries to put people of the job, which i'm trying to do. I'd stick with your own job, it might be boring but if you became a teacher you'd only start on circa 18k and top wack is around 30k unless of course you become a headteacher...which is all paperwork, so to sum it up, teaching wont get away from the paperwork!!!! My mum worked out she was paid £5 an hour for the amount of hours she does work for that school, quite frankly ists not worth it.
happysunshine
Rep:
?
Report 14 years ago
(Original post by Joey_Johns)