Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Applying for a PGCE in Primary education with a Criminology Degree Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm a recent graduate of Criminology and I'm really interested in doing a PGCE in Primary education. During my years doing Criminology, my modules and most of my elective courses have been youth oriented and it's peaked my interest into becoming a teacher. I do have some experience with children as I've been a Student Ambassador for my uni and have tutored my younger sister for her 11+ exams and during her time at primary school. I have the necessary GCSE requirments for doing a PGCE but I don't have a degree in a National Curriculum subject, so I believe there may be a hesitation for universities.

There are a few things that I would like some advice on:

1) I hoping to apply next year as I want to gain experience in a school before applying. However, I'm finding it difficult to gain experience in a primary school and was hoping for some advice and pointers as to how I should go about doing this.

2) As I am applying a year after I have graduated, is this considered to be a bad thing? I wanted to have experience before I applying as I don't have an English, Maths or Science (NC Humanities subject) degree, which many applicants for primary education do have.

Any advice that you can give me on how to gain experience and even the application would be brilliant. Thank you in advance!

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I gained experience (unpaid) just through asking the schools!

However i know that if you ask your recent Uni's careers office im sure they will help you getting in touch with a school?

ReputationRep: