Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Anyone out there doing civil engineering ?

ReputationRep:
    Hey I'm currently studying at Edinburgh college for my HND Civil Engineering and will be hopefully be coming to Napier in 3rd year to continue with my degree. How are you finding it so far?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Wookiee78)
    Hey I'm currently studying at Edinburgh college for my HND Civil Engineering and will be hopefully be coming to Napier in 3rd year to continue with my degree. How are you finding it so far?
    hey Wookie,
    I have considered Civil Eng. HND as an option so far, may i know how well you're fairing with the HND? I hear it's totally assignment based and no exams. True?
    How are the Assignments? Is it possible to get an overall Distinction profile with some kind of effort, since i'm working as well..
    How is the math? Is it like TOUGH calculus?
    Could you mail me the toughest assignment you've done so far if possible? i really need some help.

ReputationRep:
    I've studied for the past 3 years at Napier, MEng Civil Engineering.
    You have coursework and exams.
    The course has 3 modules per semester of 20 credits each with a lot of information condensed (some of them are basically 2 modules in 1).
    You will feel the difference from one year to another when it comes to workload and difficulty of information (which happens to every course usually).

Toughest exams will be in Structural Design to Eurocodes and Structural Analysis in year 3 (it's one module called Structural Engineering 1 divided in to Design and Analysis - design exam is in the middle of the semester and the analysis at the end).

Calculus you need for civil engineering is easy.