Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How does one become a Police Officer? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    How does one actually become a Police Officer? I'm vaguely aware of an apparent freeze on recruitment of new officers due to cuts and what not, but still, it would be nice to know. If you can help, assume that I'm a rookie and know nothing about the recruiting process (well I know a little, but regardless).

ReputationRep:
    A friend of mine is going through the process of it at the moment. She joined the Specials to get experience, and then they introduced a university course in policing (and a requirement of entry was that you are, or will be, a Special during this time). She's going to that this year. This will enable her to join as a regular officer within a couple of years of leaving that.

So yeah, I believe the national approach is moving towards people having a degree in policing first. It would be best to contact your constabulary and ask them what their plans are for recruitment and if this is the case for them as well.

The Specials would be a good place to start. It won't guarantee access to the "regular" position, but it will make you a better applicant as you will require less training and will be better prepared for the job.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SillyEddy)
    A friend of mine is going through the process of it at the moment. She joined the Specials to get experience, and then they introduced a university course in policing (and a requirement of entry was that you are, or will be, a Special during this time). She's going to that this year. This will enable her to join as a regular officer within a couple of years of leaving that.

So yeah, I believe the national approach is moving towards people having a degree in policing first. It would be best to contact your constabulary and ask them what their plans are for recruitment and if this is the case for them as well.