Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everybody,
    I’m a PhD student in Austria and planning to go to Oxford University as a visiting student from May until July 2014. My supervisor in Oxford said that she’s afraid that it could be hard to find a room in Oxford for this time period. Thus, I wanted to ask if somebody has advice on how to find a room in Oxford? Where/how should I search and how easy/difficult do you think it will be?
    Thanks for any kind of advice!
    Melanie

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mella_3)
    Hi everybody,
    I’m a PhD student in Austria and planning to go to Oxford University as a visiting student from May until July 2014. My supervisor in Oxford said that she’s afraid that it could be hard to find a room in Oxford for this time period. Thus, I wanted to ask if somebody has advice on how to find a room in Oxford? Where/how should I search and how easy/difficult do you think it will be?
    Thanks for any kind of advice!
    Melanie
    Get a big spread sheet and note down the email address of each college's accommodation and conference office. Usually it is the conference office that deals with the allocation of rooms over the summer. Now email all of them one by one and wait for answers. Don't email them all simultaneously. Just try each college on its own until someone says they can offer you a room.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Craghyrax)
    Get a big spread sheet and note down the email address of each college's accommodation and conference office. Usually it is the conference office that deals with the allocation of rooms over the summer. Now email all of them one by one and wait for answers. Don't email them all simultaneously. Just try each college on its own until someone says they can offer you a room.