Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi quick question,

I'm an American student who just finished high school who will be attending King's College London for medicine this fall. I was wondering how graduating from a UK medical school will affect getting specialty training after F1 and F2 as I understand foundation training isn't that hard to procure provided you do well on the exam and in school. (I realize I'm taking that for granted)...

I guess my question is; even though I wont be a UK/EU citizen, will graduating from a UK medical school give me an advantage over other graduates from other EU countries when it comes to applying to specialty training after foundation years? Also what are the chances that I get foundation training and specialty training considering that I'm not a UK/EU citizen?

Thanks!
    • PS Reviewer

(Original post by GRNS)
    Hi quick question,

I'm an American student who just finished high school who will be attending King's College London for medicine this fall. I was wondering how graduating from a UK medical school will affect getting specialty training after F1 and F2 as I understand foundation training isn't that hard to procure provided you do well on the exam and in school. (I realize I'm taking that for granted)...

I guess my question is; even though I wont be a UK/EU citizen, will graduating from a UK medical school give me an advantage over other graduates from other EU countries when it comes to applying to specialty training after foundation years? Also what are the chances that I get foundation training and specialty training considering that I'm not a UK/EU citizen?

Thanks!