Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Here's the problem, I am a straight A predicted student at A level.
    I am also an aspiring dentist, however, I decided after visiting some universities I was never going to reach the grades to get onto that course.

As a result, I decided that I was interested in doing biomedical material science which required ABB which I thought was more realistic - then do a graduate dental degree.

Then yesterday I received BCDD (B was in art so doesn't really count) at AS. My teachers were very shocked as was I and we're getting all of my papers back to see what went wrong (it doesn't look good on them either!)

So what I'm really asking is- will resitting the year hinder my chances of getting into a Russell group uni? But if I resit all exams I will have 14 exams including my A2, and do I bother applying to university this January?
    I'm really stuck at the moment so I'd really love some help.

ReputationRep:
    I got worse AS level grades than you and got into newcastle for biomed. I wouldn't worry about it, just make sure you get predicted ABB+ and you have every chance!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cliff695)
    Here's the problem, I am a straight A predicted student at A level.
    I am also an aspiring dentist, however, I decided after visiting some universities I was never going to reach the grades to get onto that course.

As a result, I decided that I was interested in doing biomedical material science which required ABB which I thought was more realistic - then do a graduate dental degree.

Then yesterday I received BCDD (B was in art so doesn't really count) at AS. My teachers were very shocked as was I and we're getting all of my papers back to see what went wrong (it doesn't look good on them either!)