Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey Guys,

I've looked through the medicine thread for hours but most of it has to do with the England education system. As I am studying in Scotland I am needing some advice for routes into Medicine.

I'm in sixth year now and thank goodness 5th year is over and done with. The grades I got were decent and they are as follow

Higher English- A ,
    Higher Geography- A,
    Higher Human Biology- A ,
    Higher Maths- C ( :P ) ,
    Higher Chemistry- B ( Was really disappointed with this as I checked today and was only 2-4 marks away from an A, hoping for an appeal but was again 2-3 marks away :/ !)

Anyways, I have been really confused and stressed for the last few days as I really want to do medicine but evidently that can't happen this year Had a talk with a few of my teachers including my PSE and she said best option now is to apply for a Science Course and then apply as a Graduate. I looked at BioMedicine ( a strong choice ) as an option or Sports Medicine, Anatomy. Was wondering are there any other courses ?

Also, if for example this year I took Adv Chemistry and Biology, Higher Physics and Business Management ( crashing both ). See if I do reasonably well in these subjects and manage to get an AA or AB for the Adv Highers and A's or an AB in the Higher , will there be any chance of applying for Med school next year or will it still not be a choice? Or are there any other ways like Gap years or something

Just to note, I am also doing an Open University Course as well and also a Saltire Award.

I am really determined to study medicine so honestly will put a lot more effort in this year!

Sorry for the long paragraphs but I really need some advice from some experts and people who are applying for Medicine as a Graduate !! I know there are many options listed on this forum but I don't really understand and know anything about the education in England.